Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2405 of /var/www/html/eraa/includes/

Scientific committee

Current Members

  • Prof. N’Dri Assié-Lumumba (Cornell University)
  • Prof. Martial Dembélé (Chair) (University of Montreal)
  • Prof. Wim Hoppers (University of Oslo)
  • Dr. Kimberly King-Jupiter (Tennessee State Univ.)
  • Prof. Kabiru Kinyanjui (International Devpt Consultant and Founding member of K-Rep Group, Kenya)
  • Prof. Moses Oketch (University of London)
  • HEM. Molapi E. Sebatane (Lesotho Ambassador to US)
  • Prof. ThérèseTchombé (U. of Buea, Cameroon)

 Ex-Officio Members

  • Dr. Hamidou Boukary (ADEA)
  • Prof. Bernadette Dia Kamgnia (ADI/AfDB)


The Scientific Committee's (SC) main responsibility is to provide intellectual leadership as well as professional expertise.
More specifically, the SC is responsible for:

  • periodically updating the concept paper of the award, as appropriate;
  • finalizing and periodically updating the statutes of the award, as appropriate;
  • designing and periodically updating the evaluation criteria, instruments and procedures to be used by the SC to short-list submissions and by juries to make the final selection;
  • assisting ADEA and ADI/AfDB recruit jury members;
  • assisting ADEA and ADI/AfDB publicize the award, and especially the calls for proposals;
  • validating and short-listing the submissions following their verification by the focal person at ADEA Secretariat;
  • ensuring that the short-listed submissions that are transmitted to juries are those that meet the highest standards;
  • drawing lessons from each cycle of award competition and feeding them into subsequent ones for continuous improvement.


The SC comprises 7 to 11 appointed members, including the chair, and 2 ex-officio from ADEA and ADI/AfDB. The members of the SC are individuals with expertise and experience in development and utilization of research in Africa, drawn from academia, education councils and boards, education research networks, education research community at large, African Ministries in charge of education, training and research, the private sector and networks of Teacher Unions.

The SC can co-opt additional members on an ad hoc basis for specific tasks. The appointed members of the SC serve an initial term of two cycles with the possibility of renewing for a maximum of one additional cycle. The number of members who may serve an additional cycle is determined during the second cycle. The renewal of the members is done in a staggered manner to ensure institutional memory and continuity.

Out of the appointed members of the SC, at least half should be based in Africa and the others can come from anywhere in the world. The composition of the SC should reflect the regional and linguistic diversity that exists on the African continent and commitment for gender balance.