In-service Teacher Education in Sub-Saharan Africa

A multi-country review of ineservice teacher education in Sub-Saharan Africa, supported by the Commonwealth Secretariat, UNESCO_IICBA, UNESCO Office in Dakar, the ADEA Working Group on the Teaching Profession and the International Taskforce on teachers for EFA was conducted in eight countries namely, Central African Republic (CAR), Ghana, Madagascar, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Zambia. The study sought to fill in the gaps in our current knowledge and understanding about in-service teacher education practices and innovations in these countries as a basis for drawing up lessons that would both improve current practices and inform future initiatives.

This Policy Brief developed out of the consolidated synthesis report of the study is intended to support governments who want to improve current practices and future initiatives in in-service teacher education. However, the Brief is not intended as a prescriptive manual, but rather, as a guide outlining policies, models, structures, processes and lessons learned. Each country needs to adapt the lessons and approaches according to an assessment of its own particular context and needs.